top of page

Nitya Bhargava


College is the place where you come with a lot of hope, aspirations and dreams. It’s the beginning of another phase of your life. When I got to know that VIT, Vellore was the final shot and I would have to travel all the way from the North to the South, I was a little tensed just like everyone. The first day of my college was an orientation which briefed us about the entire curriculum along with the extracurricular activities. Riviera, a cultural extravaganza, was also one of the events they highlighted that day. Time passed, CAT’s, FAT’s, DA were queued, clubs, chapters began their own shows and then came RIVIERA 2017.


Being a fresher, I did not register for any committee but I explored what it was about. With full excitement, I registered for the proshows which took place at the Outdoor Stadium which is inside the boys' hostel premises. Proshows were the only time you would get to visit that place. When I attended the events in the afternoon and proshows at night, I realised Riviera was a great platform to showcase your skills. On the last day when I saw the Ramp Walk by the organisers, I dreamt of being a part of it. I decided to walk on the road that would lead me from the audience to that stage.


During my second year, that is RIVIERA 2018, I joined a committee named GUEST CARE. I was at the post of a volunteer. My role was to look after the Regional Guests, External Student participants and the teachers that came to attend the events. The duty was at the dorms in the girl’s hostel. I learnt how the hierarchy was to be maintained. I grasped how to work in a team where you didn’t know people yet had to interact with them. With this thought, I gave my 100 percent, worked actively and made my mind to achieve what I had to as my final goal. Then came the third year, RIVIERA 2019, where I joined the Special Guest Care Committee (SGC) that year at the post of a Coordinator. By this time, I knew I would have to go the extra mile if I had to accomplish my dream. Keeping that in my mind, I was an active member of the committee. I did what the seniors told me to do and along with that brainstormed some new ideas since my committee had to look after the hospitality of VIP Guests, the guests of the proshows, and there had to be some uniqueness in the ideas. The Guest Houses were acquired for their accommodation. Each day was a hectic one, the balance between the classes and work had to be maintained. OD’s weren’t provided on a daily basis. Academics and this duty had to be given equal priority and at last, I did it. I maintained both really well.


Finally came the Final year, the time when you were supposed to have a good job in hand. Placements were the utmost priority. While struggling for the same, the forms for the post of Organisers and Managers for RIVIERA 2020 were released. I filled the form, although with the mental state of confusion associated with placements. Having no clue what the future had in store, I decided to work hard for placements and wait for the Riviera results. On 7th November 2019, the results were declared. I was announced as one of the ORGANISERS of SPECIAL GUEST CARE (SGC) Committee of RIVIERA 2020. I was overwhelmed with happiness. I was able to fulfil my dream that I saw on the last day of my very first Riviera. Fortunately, I also got a job without an internship. I had finally made it to The Stage.


Being an organiser, you have a great sense of responsibility to make it successful and better than the previous editions. The entire fest is to be planned with the proper guidance from Convenors, Co-Convenors and Faculty Members. Leading a team with Managers, Coordinators and Volunteers along with a Co-Organiser was a great experience. This team turned into a family in no time. Cancellations, modifications, 2-minute changes are basics of SGC. Working entire days at CR, then night slips at SALES Room, Purchase Room and at our own SGC desk was priceless. The ultimate time of Riviera that is the ramp walk in front of the huge crowd was the experience of a lifetime. Receiving a memento from Ms. Yami Gautam and Mr. Harbhajan Singh was the ultimate moment of pride. I was also asked to deliver a vote of thanks on behalf of the entire RIVIERA family.


In short, lots of emotions and feelings are attached to the word Riviera. I have made a good bunch of friends who made the journey memorable. The best thing one could have done before leaving college is gaining this experience. It is worth living.


Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page