top of page

Neeraja Nair

Riviera is the biggest festival VIT has to offer its students. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity for me to have been part of this roller coaster journey for the past three years. For me, Riviera does not mean only organizing the event. It brings a lot of fond memories about the late night and early morning practices with Maya VIT DC. I come from a rich arts background and there was no better chance for me to showcase my talents as a dancer other than the grand Riviera stage.

I was always an enthusiastic person looking to take up responsibilities. When I was initially exposed to the work that went into making Riviera a success year after year, I just couldn’t resist. I started off as a volunteer, then a coordinator and finally went on to become the ‘first girl PROSHOWS organizer’. It was indeed a journey with a lot of hardships. Looking back, I can’t think of any issues that we faced but only good important life lessons I gained. It helped me mold into a person who is now capable of managing anything life throws at them. Being around the celebrities boosted my self-confidence that I can present myself in a well manner in front of anyone. In today’s busy world, multi-tasking is an essential skill. Juggling studies and Proshow meetings really helped me achieve this skill set. This would be incomplete if I didn’t mention Sudheer sir and Gayathri ma'am who are more like a family to me now.

I would not reach here had it not been for them. Last but not the least I have to thank my team, i.e, my co-organizers, managers, coordinators and volunteers. A team of 22 people who spent numerous sleepless nights even without proper food just to see the huge stage all set for the final showdown. The look on each of their faces after the stage work is done even after going through all the hardships is truly a motivation to go on and give it all for the show. The last 4 days is what sums up all of our hard work. Taking instant decisions and finding solutions to every problem that arises at the moment was surely a hectic process, but the satisfaction after a good show was beyond words. It was just pure inspiration seeing everyone give in their 100 percent and nothing else. The Riviera phenomenon is indeed the best experience of my college life and I will cherish it throughout my lifetime.


Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page