top of page

Namisha Mehta

“All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” – Walt Disney


It might be true but I was never the one to believe in such cliché inspirational quotes and sayings. I was a girl who loved reading books, writing poetry, and had an insatiable desire to travel and explore. However, a few not-good-enough grades later, I found myself sitting with probably a hundred more students, slightly dejected yet excited about all things VIT had to offer. It was my first time, discovering rules, in times and of course, hostel food mess which was such a mess.

However, that was also the first time when I heard about Riviera, the international cultural and sports extravaganza of VIT. The after movie had this exhilarating yet catchy tune and it was filled with everything phenomenal, I wanted to be a part of. Having said that, it was sort of a pipe dream, something which I never believed I could achieve, even in my wildest dreams.


The chronology of the epic four years of my college started from acing tests and having perfect attendance to an imperfect GPA, stumbling attendance, being the board of a club, a chapter, and working in gravitas, Riviera and Makeathon, all at once. Even though I was barely surviving, I was thriving amidst the chaos of deadlines and a multitude of opportunities. Imagine that. And then, there were bitter moments, and experiences, which were shaping my perception and my personality insentiently.


Fast-forwarding to the fourth year, I had just got placed in one of the best companies, and I had just been announced as one of the organizers of Riviera 2020. I couldn’t believe that all my hard work had paid off. However, the unspoken reality behind the most sought after fest in our country, is that it isn’t all shine and shimmer. It isn’t about all the fame or the power that comes with it. It is about being able to carry forward the responsibility, head held high. It is not just about the ideas but working hard till you drop and about the passion and the perseverance to not give up.


There were times when all I wanted to do was run away from it all but the support and inspiration of my co-organizers, of my faculties and my team, made the whole experience worthwhile. To be honest, it taught me to be resilient, yet kind, to be assertive but also be grounded. To this day, I’d say that through Riviera, I have discovered that there is more to the world than what meets the eye, and what keeps us connected and balanced are our values and the passion we carry for our dream. It taught me how to trust people, yet have more faith in oneself, how to truly let go and still hold on to the reality which does seem more like a dream sometimes.

To some, Riviera is truly one of the top fests of our country, to some, it is like a wonderland with a plethora of events, but for me, it is one hell of a rollercoaster ride, which taught me how to be my own person. I also realized that it’s okay to be different and not everyone understands your ideas and/ or deserves your support. What matters is, if you believe in your dreams and more than that, have the courage to pursue them.


1 Comment


Prashant Sharma
Prashant Sharma
Jun 14, 2020

very well, the initial quote pushes one to read forward, has very fine selection of words

Like
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page