top of page

The Land of Happiness

Over the years the nature of travelling has changed. It has now become a combination of finding ourselves, and to behold the sight this earth has to offer. People rarely go out travelling to discover the culture and people of other states. Do they?


When I landed at Bagdogra airport, I was quite perplexed by the journey that led me to Gangtok. The aura of Sikkim is very unique from any other state of India. It is called the land of happiness, and it is not just peaceful but, it’s something that empowers you to believe in your very existence at that very moment. It took me days to figure out what makes Sikkim so special and I finally got the answer - it is the people of Sikkim. It sounds ambiguous, doesn't it?


When I reached Sikkim, I checked into a hotel and started going through the places I had planned. I was already running behind my schedule. Yet, I wanted to spend more time just gazing at the colourful houses and watching people carrying out their usual business. Throughout my trip, I noticed people being so helpful to not just tourists but also to one another. People of Sikkim wear Smile as an ornament. Be it a little girl playing at the Gully or maybe a daily wage worker loading tons of cartoons on a truck, people here know to smile and spread happiness. You might be wondering how I can come to such a conclusion? Well, after this pandemic ends, you might need some dose of happiness, and therefore, you need to definitely visit Sikkim. You might as well end up agreeing with me.


I had the most terrifying road trip while I was in Sikkim. I remember the narrow hill roads covered with fog. At first glance, it felt like the normal hill roads of any other hill stations. However, when the weather cleared, the steepness of the mountains was clearly visible. I have been to many hill stations, but the roads at Sikkim beats everything, even the Kharungla Pass. While not looking outside the window so often, my first day of the trip included Tsomgo lake, Baba Mandir and the Nathula Pass. Before discovering these places, you should have a permit to enter the region as it borders China. Firstly, you come across a blue lake, the Tsomgo lake. It is not just any other lake, it is an oval-shaped lake surrounded by Snowy mountains. If you love birds and if you are lucky, you might sight a Ruddy shelduck, a migratory bird that is quite famous for its orange and brown feathers.



Next on the list was - Nathula Pass. Nathula Pass is famous for its Silk trade routine between India and Tibet. You are not allowed to click pictures at Nathula Pass because of its proximity to China. It’s so cold at the pass that it is very hard for some people to walk. I somehow dragged myself to the top without any camera or phone (as you are not allowed to click pictures). As I reached the top, there were two buildings separated by a fence - One belonged to India and the other to China. The view was by far the most beautiful one. The most interesting thing about the trip to Nathula Pass is that there are numerous small lakes and they resemble more like a mirror, reflecting the snowy mountains. While returning back, you could also visit the Baba Mandir. It’s believed that the temple was built to pay homage to Baba Harbhajan Singh, an Indian army soldier, who served his nation even after his death. Not just the locals but also the army personnel have believed that he still guards the border of India.



Situated 30 km from Lachung, Yumthang Valley is a paradise for those who love exotic flowers. It is also known as the Sikkim Valley of Flowers. It is full of poppies, iris and the world-famous rhododendron. Apart from the exotic flowers, Reshi Hot Spring is also a place to visit. It is a famous hot spring at the bank of the Rangeet River. It is known for its High Sulfur concentration that can cure various skin diseases.


Other famous places to visit in Pelling. It is entirely for sightseeing and enjoying an enthralling view that the mountains have to offer. You could also pay a visit to Kanchenjunga Falls. Originating high up in the glaciers of Mount Kanchenjunga, the crystal clear water remained hidden in the thick forest till the 90s. Other places that you might want to visit are - Peace Pagoda, Ghoom Monastery, Himalayan Mountaineering Institute (a must for someone who loves mountaineering), and Himalayan Zoological Park.



For the first time in my travelling history, I discovered the people and not the place. Honestly, there are tons of places to visit in Sikkim, but you can always cut it short to play football with the people around. Trust me, most of them would never say no to football. It was the first time in my life that I preferred to stay rather than going on road trips and discovering places. To me, this was a new aspect of travelling - collecting memories and leaving footprints. That’s pretty much the ambience of Sikkim. It is one of the cleanest hill stations in India and people here are definitely proud of it. They are often known for their hospitality and are often willing to go the extra mile for their guests.



As I was returning back from Sikkim, I didn’t really know what was the actual takeaway of this trip was it just another quest of mine to fill my scrapbook with a beautiful picture or to meet the people who believe in warmth and hospitality?


コメント


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page