top of page

Space: A dream

Every kid in the world dreams about becoming an astronaut and going to space. Our knowledge was limited to the solar system and what we saw at night, the stars. I used to look up hoping to get a glance at Saturn’s rings, only to realize that was never possible through naked eyes. Even now, I wouldn’t say I don’t dream about going up there. The mystery about it is fascinating and a little scary.


That’s exactly what I wanted to capture in my design. The vast night sky we see has so much to offer that we don’t yet know about. 


I could have gone with an illustration of space, with the sun and the other planets. But what I wanted to capture was how anyone would imagine what space is, by looking up. 



As you can see in the illustration, that’s what I have tried to capture. The first thing I did was make the night sky. If I went with a solid black, it looked very plain and minimal. Instead, I made a gradient and added more mystery to it. Next was making the stars. I didn’t go with the traditional star image as whenever we see the night sky, we see the stars as dots. Hence, I made small circles and randomly placed them over the image. I resized a few of them to give the sparkle effect. To add just a bit of space effect, I made a comet. I remember learning about Halley’s Comet. Ever since then I have always wanted to see it. The next time its projected to return is in 2061. Coming back to the design, I made some normal illustrations where I could show a kid standing. Added a little shadow effect behind it. In the end, I added the image of the kid. 


That’s how I created this. Designs do not need too many elements to make it look beautiful. A clear idea in your head is all you need to get an amazing result.

Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page