top of page

My Quest for Tasty Food in Vellore - Part II

It was in my second year that I finally realized about my love for food, and it needed a platform where I can share my reviews and photos, so I created my food page @wannabefoodii on Instagram in 2018, and I have been posting food pics since then. And after coming to college, I started exploring new places in Vellore. I went to various restaurants in the city with my friends as I needed content for my page.



I finally went to the much-hyped Vellore Kitchen. The food there is simply amazing and pocket friendly too. Various items on their menu are delicious. As for non-vegetarians, I recommend their Chicken lollipop, Murgh Irani (a little sweet to taste, nice for a change) and for vegetarians, you may go for any Paneer gravy, they are good too.


I had heard a lot about Bihari Dhaba, so we went there too. This place is also a favourite for some people, we all have favourites and tend to prefer one place most times. This place is also one of those places where you can drop in for lunch or dinner, this place serves boiled chicken which is very popular among the gym going lads. There is a shop known as Planet Soda next to Bihari Dhaba, where they serve Sodas for Rs 10 a glass, I have tried all their flavours, it’s really refreshing.


In the same lane, there is a momos shop, named as Eden Momos, where they serve the spiciest and momos of Vellore. If you want to have something spicy, you can go for Schezwan Momos at this place and the next thing that you will be doing is reaching for a glass of soda because of the excessive amount of spice they add to these Schezwan momos. They also serve Steamed and Fried Momos, they are good as well.


Do you know where you can find the best burgers in Vellore? We have KFC now, but earlier we had Meat'n'Eat, Chick-In and Fry-Yo for KFC. Meat'n'Eat and Chick-In have been good friends in the absence of KFC. In fact, Chick-In offers unlimited Pepsi on every meal, which is a very good deal. If you miss Chicken Nuggets, you can try the same from Meat'n'Eat, even the burgers and the fries are really good. Trust me, after eating at these places, I tend to prefer these over Mc Donalds and some days KFC too.


Now we have Hart Lounge, heaven for non-vegetarians, popular for their shawarmas mostly; this has to be the best item on their menu.

Like this, there are innumerable food places big and small around the campus where you can find all kinds of food. 


Now, coming to the campus, here are the places where you can grab a quick bite in between classes and gaps.


The juice and samosas from the SMV juice shop have a different fan base. You can find people stopping by at this place to have a chilled glass of Juice or Milkshake in the scorching Vellore heat. 


Next is our Food Court (FC). Nothing comes close to the awesome breakfast of Dosa and Coffee in FC. I used to have a gap between classes, so I was fortunate enough to go to FC and have breakfast. The sandwiches and juices here are good too. It's probably the only place where best hygiene standards are followed while preparing food. And then there is DC for having junk food, fancy food and cakes. And needless to mention Arasan (SJT), the ideal place for lunch for day boarders with really pocket-friendly prices.


I will also like to mention my favourite place for tea on Campus - it’s the tea shop near CDMM. Also, there is Namma Chai in SJT Foodys where you can find a variety of Teas. Good place for all the tea lovers. Then there is Lalit Vihar in SJT Foody's, here you can find all the major North Indian snacks, and they are tasty too.


We all have different tastes and our personal favourites, if you think I missed out something in the previous part of this part, let me know in the comments.


Also, follow my foodie journey on @wannabefoodii on Instagram for more Vellore based food pictures.

Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page