top of page

My quest for Tasty Food in Vellore


When I came to Vellore for the first time, I was aware that many of my favourite Food Joints are not there in this place, where I was going to spend the next 4 years. I knew that apart from Dominos, there is no KFC, no McDonald’s, no Burger King and no Subway too in my new city. Well, to be honest, I knew that I would miss those supreme homemade delicacies made by my mom and also my all-time favourite street food items from the streets of Kanpur.


The first pizza that I ordered from Dominos in Vellore hit differently. It was a Cheese Burst Country Special. It's not available now, but my other favourites from Dominos include Veggie Paradise, Farm House and Barbeque Chicken Pizza.


Then, I started trying out new restaurants, one of my good friends suggested Apna Dhaba, so that was the first restaurant that I ate at in Vellore. You can try out Dal Makhani at this place, it’s one of the best items on their menu. I ordered Butter Chicken, and they brought Chicken Makhani at my table, I didn’t know the difference back then, so I accepted, but then after tasting a little, they took it away. Only I know, that Chicken Makhani tasted better than my Butter Chicken.


Then, I came to know about Limra, my roommate used to bring Rolls and Cheese Sticks very frequently to the room, I wanted to taste them too. So, one day after the last exam, I finally went to Limra and ordered one Chicken Roll and a Cheese Stick, I was overwhelmed by the supreme taste of those food items. Limra went on to become one of my favourite spots to grab a quick bite. Other food items on the menu are also good.


I had two senior friends from my city, once I asked them about other food joints in Vellore, so they invited me to Saleem Dhaba, where I discovered Ramba Chicken and Andhra Special Biriyani, it was too good. I had never tasted such spicy food; it was similar but had that South Indian touch to it.


I have a lot of foodie friends, who used to send snaps of tasty food and the Sundaes from the Lassi House were trending at that time, so I struck this name too from my list and went there to have a Sundae. I have tasted a lot of Sundaes from that place, and they are good.


I have seen the opening of Papa Johns, Dominos, Subway and KFC, the start and rise of Zomato and Swiggy in Vellore. Trust me, seeing Vellore on the map of Swiggy and Zomato was really good news. Now, one doesn’t need to travel in Autos to get to good food, being in Vellore it’s a huge relief for VITians.


I went to TaraMaa first when my friend gave his treat, and the rest is history. It became one of my favourite places, it's not just the food, it’s the conversations, the people and the vibe of the place which makes it our favourite.


And there are many more places, many more stories my quest for Tasty Food in Vellore. 


Until next time.


Follow my foodie journey on @wannabefoodii on Instagram.




Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page