top of page

Explosive Training



At home, bored, no weights to train with, no friends to play with; quarantine took quite a toll on all of us. Here’s a new way of training which almost every athlete trains with - Explosive training.


Explosive moments take an insane amount of energy, for proof of theory try 25 air jump squats versus 25 free bodyweight squats and feel the difference.


But here’s the catch, they also burn fat, fast. Being smart with your workouts, you can tailor them as a separate HIIT training routine or add salt to taste to your regular cardio sessions.


I have been incorporating a lot of explosive movements during this lockdown to keep up with being fit. Here’s my routine I do in a target of 30-45 min.

Exercise x sets x reps:

  • Bodyweight squats x 4 x 25

  • Crunches x 3 x 25

  • Lunges x 4 x 20

  • Plank x 3 x 1 min

  • 60 Mountain Climbers

  • Push-ups x 5 x 30

  • 30 Squat Jumps

  • V Snap x 30

These are my sets and reps, feel free to alter according to your level of advancement. Since I do this as a cardio supplement I keep my rest period short but had I to use these as a complete workout, I’d increase the rest period and increase the time under tension for movements like Push-ups and Squats, maybe add a little weight and decrease the reps accordingly.

This routine will give you the best of both worlds.

Stay safe. Stay fit.


Comments


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page