top of page

Dance when it rains



"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, life is about learning to dance in the rain".

This is a quote that I had come across quite a while ago, and could never get it out of my head since then.

This current situation, needless to say, is full of uncertainty, increased stress, fright, away from our friends, in some cases away from our family.

In this situation, stress and anxiety can take over a person and we can forget to take care of ourselves. Happiness can be difficult to find.

I'm writing this article for all my friends out there, who love dancing, and who have also used it as a way to vent out when placed in a difficult situation.

This lockdown can make you lazy and aimless, without you ever realizing it, which occurred with me too. I had almost given up on any sort of physical activity and was only sulking. And it's okay to sulk. I used to pity the fact that I don't really have anything to do, and that anything I attempt isn't good enough. It was only later that I realized that it's fine. We cannot be up on our feet, energetic, enthusiastic and full of creative ideas everyday. When your body starts showing no signs of enthusiasm, you must understand the signal that it's okay to sit back and relax.

You can think of new creative ideas in this duration. You can observe others.

As a dancer myself, there is a feeling of guilt when you don't indulge in it for a long time. But what we must understand is, no matter what, nobody can take away the dances you've already had.

Something else that I've realized is, changing your usual dance form also gives you some sort of motivation. A sort of relaxation. So next time, try creating something new. Something you've never done before but you always wanted to. This is the time.

That leads me to a very important point here, that I'm not just talking about professional trained dancers. This is for anyone and everyone. Dance and music, soothes our soul. It is no one's individual legacy. So just because you feel that you might not be good enough, you must not be scared to do what you love. There is no competition. Something that serves as food for the soul, should never be put for second thoughts.

So dance till you can, let all those unexpressed emotions be expressed through the rhythm of your movements swinging along with the music.

Let your faith be bigger than your fear.

Because it's the heart afraid of breaking that never learns to dance. It's the dream afraid of waking that never takes a chance.

Bình luận


  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page